Skip to Main Content

D64 educators and community member earn Those Who Excel Awards

Graphic for Those Who Excel Award Winners

As many of you see firsthand, we have tremendous educators and community members who do so much for our children. While their hard work often goes unnoticed, we have a special opportunity to honor a group for their positive impact in our schools and for making District 64 a better place. 

We're thrilled to recognize and celebrate our staff and volunteers who were named Those Who Excel Award winners by the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE). Congratulations to this group for this great honor:

  • Rebecca Navez - Emerson Teacher - Award of Special Recognition 
  • Kelly L. VanHorn - Emerson Teacher - Award of Special Recognition
  • Dr. Joel T. Martin - Asst. Supt. for Human Resources - Award of Meritorious Service
  • Demelza Steinfels - Parent & Volunteer - Award of Excellence
  • Janet Petrielli - Carpenter Office Associate - Award of Special Recognition
  • Maribeth Aimers - Carpenter Administrative Secretary - Award of Special Recognition

Join us in thanking these dedicated teachers, educators, and community members for all they do for us and our students! 

The annual Those Who Excel & Teacher of the Year Awards celebrate incredible classroom teachers, administrators, teams, volunteers, and school support personnel who have made lasting impacts on the students, families, and fellow educators in their school communities. Find more information on the application process and awards in ISBE’s Overview of Awards. ISBE will celebrate the awardees at a banquet on May 18.

Together We Discover, Learn, Grow & Care

At D64, our mission is to foster opportunities for discovery, engagement, and growth for all students. We accomplish this by nurturing interdependence, appreciation of differences, and care for self and others.

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.