Young Author winners for 2018 selected

Young Author winners for 2018 selected

More than 450 writers -- believed to be an all-time record -- contributed their works to the District 64 Youth Author program for 2018!

Interest is soaring in this annual creative writing competition, which has seen participation grow dramatically over the past several years. Students are invited to write and illustrate an original fiction short story independently at home.

The District-level winners have been selected from a pool of outstanding school winners at every grade level. This year’s outstanding Young Authors and the titles of their works are:

  • Kindergarten: Franklin School student Kate Morriss, Kate’s Big Adventure
  • 1st Grade: Franklin School student Kylie Liu, The Color of Spring
  • 2nd Grade: Washington School student Sean Ricard, Andy’s Adventure
  • 3rd Grade: Roosevelt School student Nicholas Calderon, The Black Widow
  • 4th Grade: Carpenter School student Avery Lamplota, Dragonclaw: The Last Egg
  • 5th Grade: Field School student Selah Kim, The Silver Eyes
  • 6th Grade: Emerson Middle School tudent Annika Johnson, The Capsized
  • 7th Grade: Emerson Middle School students Vivian Hein and Jessica Kenyeri, The Mystery Under the Water
  • 8th Grade: Lincoln Middle School student Jayce Lassa, The Great War of 2172

District 64's Young Author winners are also eligible to attend the Illinois Statewide Young Author’s Conference on May 19, 2018. Four of our 10 winners registered to attend this event.

The Young Authors will receive certificates as part of the Recognition of Student Awards at the May 21, 2018 Board of Education meeting, which will be held at 7:00 p.m. at Emerson Middle School (multipurpose room), 8101 N. Cumberland, Niles.