Roosevelt students share "TechXpertise" at Springfield Tech Forum

Roosevelt students share "TechXpertise" at Springfield Tech Forum

Roosevelt School fifth graders Claire Lisowski and Kara Chaplin, representing a group of sixteen fifth grade leaders known as the TechXperts, headed to Springfield on Thursday, May 10 to participate in the “Students for the Information Age” TECH 2018 event at the Illinois State Capitol Building.

They were accompanied by Roosevelt Instructional Technology Coach Tiffany Costa and Principal Kevin Dwyer, and joined hundreds of other students and teachers from throughout the state. The students will demonstrate for members of the Illinois State Senate and House of Representatives along with the public the creative ways technology is being used to enhance and accelerate student achievement in Illinois schools today. 

The Roosevelt students received additional training and serve as leaders in the daily Tech Lab held at Roosevelt School, where all students are invited throughout the year to create, code, and explore technology during their recess.

This is the second consecutive year that a District 64 elementary school team has been selected in a competitive process to represent Illinois students. In 2017, two students from Carpenter School demonstrated their STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) and inquiry-based learning projects.

TECH 2018 is a not-for-profit initiative presented by Illinois Computing Educators (ICE). From elementary to high school classrooms, TECH 2018 highlights the crucial role that technology plays in education, ranging from increases in collaboration and critical thinking, to promoting learning beyond the limits of the school day.

Later this month, District 64 will host its own 21st Century Student Learning Showcase "D64 Innovates!"on Monday, May 21 from 6-7 p.m. at Emerson Middle School (lobby), 8101 N. Cumberland, Niles, featuring students at all grade levels and from all schools sharing their learning and tech achievements for community members. Please join us!

PHOTO: Roosevelt's TECH 2018 team (from left) of Claire Lisowski and Kara Chaplin.