Skip to Main Content

D64 celebrates milestones for staff

D64 celebrates milestones for staff

As the 2019-20 school year draws to a close, School District 64 is celebrating career milestones of 40 teachers and staff members.

District 64 announced the retirements of 15 staff members, celebrated 14 staff members who have attained 25 years of service and honored 11  teachers who achieved tenure. According to the Illinois School Code, a teacher is considered probationary for the first four years they work full-time in a district; after that they achieve tenure.

“I’m thankful for each of these employees, whether they are teachers, custodians, nurses or secretaries. Each of them has made a difference in the lives of our students and for that we’re grateful,” said District 64 Superintendent Eric Olson. “For those retiring, we wish them a very happy and healthy retirement. We’ll certainly miss them in our schools.”

While District 64 will not be able to host a banquet in honor of retirees this year, it will produce a printed program highlighting the 25-year staff members and short remembrances of the careers of each of its retirees. The programs will be delivered to the honored staff.

The staff members reaching career milestones this year include:

Carpenter Elementary School

  • Renee Jurczak – 25 years of service 

Emerson Middle School

  • Evelyn Dobrydnio – tenure   
  • Alex Teater – tenure 
  • Dave Franz – 25 years of service 
  • Tina Gomez – 25 years of service 
  • Charlene John – 25 years of service 
  • Linda Adamowski – retirement 
  • Keith Liddell – 25 years of service 
  • Ourania Prokos – 25 years of service 
  • Michael Kennedy – retirement
  • Lisa Swain – retirement 
  • Steve Senf –  retirement 
  • June Sorensen – retirement 

Field Elementary School

  • Kathryn Balogi – tenure   
  • Kathleen Graham – tenure 
  • Kathy Pierucci – retirement  

Franklin Elementary School

  • Robert Rasmussen – tenure    
  • Giovanni Biondo – retirement 
  • Mary Jones – retirement 

Jefferson Preschool

  • Ashley Lichter – tenure  
  • Amy Rooney – tenure 
  • Heather Friese – 25 years of service 
  • Barbara Murphy – 25 years of service 
  • Jackie Tsevis – retirement 

Lincoln Middle School

  • Jillian Gronwick – tenure    
  • Colleen Daly – 25 years of service 
  • Andrew Duerkop – 25 years of service 
  • Christopher Francis – 25 years of service 
  • (Jon) Scott Hulting – retirement 
  • Thomas Nasshan – retirement 
  • Michelle Sutschek – retirement 
  • Richard Szflarski – retirement 

Roosevelt Elementary School

  • Suzanne Kaplan – 25 years of service 
  • Christina O’Donnell – 25 years of service 

Washington Elementary School

  • Caitline Cooney – tenure   
  • Kerry Downes-Columbia - tenure
  • Amber Laureano – tenure 
  • Alex Govis – 25 years of service 
  • Steven Hernandez – retirement 
  • Diane Kucharski – retirement

Together We Discover, Learn, Grow & Care

At D64, our mission is to foster opportunities for discovery, engagement, and growth for all students. We accomplish this by nurturing interdependence, appreciation of differences, and care for self and others.

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.