D64 Board seats new members, selects officers following 2019 election

D64 Board seats new members, selects officers following 2019 election

The Board of Education of Park Ridge-Niles School District 64 conducted its organizational meeting on April 29, 2019.

New Board members Dr. Denise Pearl and Carol Sales along with re-elected member Tom Sotos took the oath of office for four-year terms expiring in 2023. New member Rebecca Little was sworn in for a two-year term expriring in 2021.

(PHOTO - L/R - Sotos, Pearl, Sales, Little)

Members then elected Board officers for two-year terms: Rick Biagi, President; Tom Sotos, Vice-President; and Carol Sales, Secretary. Board members Larry Ryles and Fred Sanchez are continuing members.

In addition, the Board expressed its appreciation to retiring members Anthony Borrelli, Mark Eggemann and Bob Johnson for their dedicated efforts on behalf of the schools. Borrelli is leaving the Board having served eight years, including six as President. Eggemann is leaving the Board having served a four-year term. Johnson was appointed to the Board in December 2018 to fill an unexpired term; he previously served as a Board member from 2014-17. 

(PHOTO - L/R - Borrelli, Johnson, Eggemann)

“We cannot thank our retiring Board members enough for their deep commitment to placing the best interest of our students first and foremost in all decisions brought before them," according to Superintendent Laurie Heinz.

“Their focus on providing updated and safe learning environments along with a willingness to hire talented staff and provide cutting edge curricular resources has allowed D64 to move forward in achieving our educational mission to inspire every child to discover, learn, achieve and care,” she added. “Their dedication and leadership have benefited the District and will serve as a strong model for future boards and to all members of the larger District 64 community,” Dr. Heinz noted.

Board members may be contacted via the website.