News from April 29, 2019 Board of Education meetings

News from April 29, 2019 Board of Education meetings


Highlights of special meeting -- Departing members honored

Three members of the Board of Education were thanked for their dedication and service to our students, staff and community as they retired from Board duties. The departing members are (from left) President Anthony Borrelli along with Bob Johnson and Mark Eggemann.

Their names have been added to District 64's roll of past Board members. One of the last items of business for the Board was to accept the canvass of the April 2, 2019 election results from the Cook County Clerk.

Highlights of organizational meeting - Members sworn in, officers elected

The oath of office was administered to three new members and one incumbent. The Board then elected officers to serve until the next elections in 2021.

The new Board includes (seated/from left): new member Carol Sales, Secretary; continuing member Rick Biagi, President; re-elected member Tom Sotos, Vice President; (standing/from left) continuing member Fred Sanchez; new member Rebecca Little, who will serve a two-year term; new member Dr. Denise Pearl; and continuing member Larry Ryles. Board members may be contacted here.

Other meeting highlights include:

  • Meeting schedule for 2019-20 adopted - The Board will continue its long-standing practice of meeting at each school at least once every year.
  • Board committee assignments approved - New Board members Sales and Little will form the Board Policy Committee. Continuing Board members Ryles and Sanchez will carry on as leaders of the Board Special Education Committee; further discussion of the committee's focus is planned for a future meeting.